Pammakaristos Church, known locally as Fethiye Mosque, is officially named Fethiye Museum. It is famous for its mosaics which cover the dome and walls.
Pammakaristos Church is located on one of Istanbul’s seven hills, within the neighborhood called Carsamba. Even though it is not clearly known when it was constructed, it is thought to be built in the 11th or 12th centuries. After the conquest, Pammakaristos had been used as seat of Greek Orthodox Patriarchate until 1586. During the reign of Sultan Murad III, it was converted in to a mosque and named Fethiye (conquest) to honor the conquest of Georgia and Azerbaijan.
Great examples of late Byzantine mosaics remain inside the shrine, which makes the museum popular among visitors. Fethiye Mosque has been restored by Byzantine Institute of America and Dumbarton Oaks in 1949, and has been serving as a museum since. Because it is settled off the beaten path and not known as much as Hagia Sophia and Chora Museum, it is visited by just a few percentage of visitors who travel to Istanbul. Even the mosaics of Christ Pantokrator and the Twelve Prophets that decorate the dome are worth a short visit.